Notifications
Clear all

What we learned from our first poll . . .

3 Posts
3 Users
2 Likes
Dave Jensen
(@davejensencareertrax-com)
Topic starter  

It's hard to get a firm handle on a poll result when there is only limited participation.  The first poll we had came up when this forum was only days old, but even then, we did have one response stand out.

The question was "What was your biggest surprise when you left your training and went into the job market?" and the clear winner to that poll question was the response of "The amount of competition and how hard it is to stand out."

This is sure true.

Can anyone comment on how they've "stood out" in their job seeking process?

Dave

This topic was modified 5 years ago by Dave Jensen

Dave Jensen, Founder and Moderator
Bio Careers Forum

PG
(@per-grufmancepheid-se)
Estimable Member

I have a couple of different examples. One of them being mostly pure luck and the other experience based. 

I did my PhD in Immunology. I got my position through contacting one of the professors that lectured during the course and he remembered me and helped to set up interviews with a few people that were looking to take in a new PhD student. One of the things that made him remember me was that I was the only male in the class in combination with participating in the discussions.

When I got my position with the company that I am working for now the hiring manager later told me that what made me stand out was one of my questions during the interview. He made a statement about the market uptake of the companys products.  I questioned this statement based on my experience from a lot of customer meetings with my previous company. Having had that type of customer interface as an R&D manager is unusual and questioning the hiring manager based on real world experience helped tipping the scales in my favour.

Dave Jensen reacted
ReplyQuote
DX
 DX
(@dx)
Estimable Member